Please Wait . .

NY State Grows SolSmart-er

Erie County, with Sustainable CUNY's assistance, recently achieved SolSmart's highest designation - Gold! SolSmart is a U.S. Department of Energy-funded solar energy program for local governments that provides a nationally recognized designation to communities that take, or have taken, actions to reduce local barriers to solar energy. Erie County, New York States eighth largest county and largest outside of the downstate area, joins the ranks of the Town of Warwick and New York City as SolSmart Gold Designees, with the Town of Huntington being awarded Bronze. SolSmart now covers 9.5 million New York State residents - and growing! If your community is interested in free assistance from the ombudsman team and federal recognition for smart solar policies, please email